Sample Selection Saturday | The Face Shop The Therapy Essential Formula Emulsion

The third and last post of The Therapy sample series. This is the essential formula emulsion. I was lucky enough to try three out of the four products in the line: the toner, the oil-drop serum and the emulsion in a massive sample pack from a recent repurchase. (#shopthestash is still in play, it’s just I needed some eyeliner.)

What is it?

The Face Shop recently launched an anti-aging line called The Therapy. Some of the ingredients are derived from a hilly region in Italy. According to The Face Shop, The Therapy is based on the most effective recipes according to Dr. Pablo of Marches University. (I don’t know if he exists or which university they mean, since neither the doctor nor the university popped up on searches.)

For more on The Therapy, check out my serum review for an in-depth description.

The emulsion ingredients

Ingredients: water, caprylic/capric triglyceride, propanediol, glycerin, elaeis guineensis (palm) oil, canola oil, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, betaine, elaeis guineensis (palm) kernel oil, behenyl alcohol, tri-c14-15 alkyl citrate, peg/ppg-17/6 copolymer, 1,2-hexanediol, caprylic/capric glycerides, phenoxyethanol, fragrance, carbomer, butylene glycol, potassium hydroxide, disodium EDTA, diethylheyxl syringylidenemalonate, glycine soja (soybean) seed extract, adenosine, sodium polyacrylate, sodium hyaluronate, honey extract, avena sativa (oat) meal extract, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, calendula officinalis flower extract, laurus nobilis leaf extract, melia azadirachta leaf extract, melia azadirachta flower extract, curcuma longa (turmeric) root extract, ocimum sanctum leaf extract, corallina officinalis extract

In brief: the good and the ugly

The good:

Decent moisturizer. No surprise considering the many oils that make up the ingredient list.

As an emulsion, it’s a “light” moisturizer before a cream (and separate sleeping pack), but since it’s from an anti-aging line this emulsion is a lot richer than some that I’ve tried. Not necessarily a bad thing!

It’s a good option for the winter and as a last-step moisturizer for the spring/summer. I tried this during the early spring and I liked how long my skin remained hydrated (a good deal of the day and a whole night’s rest). For my combination skin it was enough moisturizer for the day–and on a no-makeup day it left my skin relatively matte. (Slightly dewy at the end of the day on my T-zone, but hey! It’s spring!)

The smell, much the same as the rest of the line, isn’t a bother to me.

The ugly:

It’s hard to judge a sample from an anti-aging line, primarily because I would never know unless I stick with it for a long period of time.

The price is a bit on the high side, but there is a decent amount of product. If you’re looking to streamline your moisturizing steps, from the potential two to three, this might be a costly option. If, on the other hand, you’re looking for a light-medium moisturizer, it does a solid job on its own. Drier skin types and mature skin types may have to also purchase the cream (or skip this one altogether).

About the line: I loved how the items worked on their own and I imagine they’ll complement each other well when combined. Aside from the immediate plumpness, I’m skeptical that I’d see any effects, let alone long-term, with consistent use. I’m also weary of the addition of trendy ingredients (e.g. turmeric). It seems to me you’d be better off eating the stuff if you want to reap the benefits, considering how low on the list it is. On a similar vein, as much as I appreciate the use of natural ingredients, the many herbs and flower extracts are hanging out at the bottom with their friend, good old turmeric. I feel like this is more a marketing ploy to cash in on the “natural” and “eco-friendly” trend, which I am guilty of jumping on from time to time.

If I were to purchase, I’d likely buy all the products and use them simultaneously (save for the cream). It would last me a good while and they do deliver slightly more hydration than what I get with similar stuff. That said the products I did try seemed to be $5-$10 more expensive than other toners/essences of its ilk. As someone who does a multi-step routine daily, that extra cost adds up quickly.

Would I purchase?

Maybe. (Overall, I liked the line but the price is a factor. On the fence about this one, but it’s a decent emulsion!)

The Therapy Essential Formula Emulsion (130ml, $40CDN plus tax) can be found at online and in store at The Face Shop.

 

Leave a Reply

