Sample Selection Saturday | Aesop Purifying Facial Exfoliant Paste

You know how there are some brands that you’d love to try but haven’t? You’ve got your reasons. It’s too expensive–what if you fall in love and want everything? It’s unattainable–it’s (physically) unattainable to you and so you don’t buy it.

Aesop is such a brand.

I love everything about it. The skincare line is like one in my dreams. The packaging is just what I want on my vanity. Uniform. Nondescript. Everything in glass bottles. (I want my skin care stash to look like a high-class apothecary: bottles, eye droppers and tubs of amber, indigo and black glass with an array of spatulas and airless canisters.)

Up this week is Aesop’s purifying facial exfoliant paste.

What is it:

This is a combination physical and chemical exfoliant.

ingredients: Water (Aqua), Quartz, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Cetearyl Alcohol, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Ceteareth-20, Glycerin, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Lactic Acid, Coconut Alcohol, Ormenis Multicaulis Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Hydroxide, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Disodium EDTA, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Linalool, d-Limonene.

In brief: the good and the ugly

The good:

I’m not into physical exfoliants so much, but this is one of the handful that I really enjoy. Maybe the fact that it’s more of a clay-based exfoliant has something to do with that. The granules aren’t so big and abrasive than lower-end scrubs, but if my soft skin is anything to go by their size has no bearing on their efficacy.

It’s a face scrub that you can also use on your lips; since it’s a cosmetic, I wouldn’t recommend trying to eat it. It doesn’t smell appetizing, so that shouldn’t really be an issue.

The sample serving was a bit more than the prescribed 0.5 teaspoon, though that would probably be a bit much for my face/neck anyway. It gave me a chance to get a good scrub down to my collarbone and on the backs of both my hands. A pretty good scrub on a variety of body parts, though given how expensive it is, I wouldn’t recommend using this to buff your hands. That said, my hands feel SO smooth.facebook.com

The bad:

This exfoliant isn’t good for some people: obviously, with sensitive skin types it’s always a gamble. As it’s a physical/chemical blend, skin types that have a more major case of acne or face irritation should stay away.

Generally I love Aesop packaging, but I love and hate those metal tubes. With the sample, it’s not a problem, I can cut the packet open and carefully scoop out all of the portion with a spatula. Problem solved. With the metal tube it’s impossible to get every little ounce of this paste out of its container. There will always be a little bit left. Not such a big deal, maybe to some, but it comes at a hefty cost ($49 USD + shipping; ~$55 CDN). For that price, I’d want to scoop out every little drop. Every little grainy particle.

The product size (2.5 fl. oz or 74ml) doesn’t yield a lot of use. When you factor that the recommended use is twice a week, half a teaspoon the bottle yields enough uses to go a little under four months. That is, of course, if you’re able to get all of the product in the tube. Right now, the cost-per-use is a bit steep and I can’t justify this having a regular spot in my skincare regimen.

Would I purchase?

Yes, during a once-in-a-blue-moon splurge. Otherwise, not right now.

Leave a Reply

