Make Up For Ever smoky extravagant mascara wand

Sample Selection Saturday | Make Up For Ever Smoky Extravagant mascara

If this looks a bit familiar, it’s because this was part of Sephora’s birthday gift last year. I have a late birthday, OK? Last month I talked about how awesome the MUFE birthday lipstick was and how pleasantly surprised I was at that.

Up next is this mascara. As a general rule, I tend not to wear it because my experience with mascara is very hit-and-miss. My current HG is Kiss Me Heroine long-and-curl mascara. I don’t wear it all that often because it’s so good that it’s a pain to take off at the end of the day. That’s how good it lasts!

While this is nothing like my good ol’ HG, this is a good stand-in for low-maintenance days.

What is it?

This mascara from Make Up For Ever is designed to deliver length, volume and curl.

In brief: the good and the ugly

The good:

This lengthens lashes like nothing else. It’s a good second for my HG and it’s a lot more accessible, to boot.

The brush is pretty good at giving really even application. My lashes looked long and natural. This isn’t likely to give me clumps and I don’t need to keep swiping to hit all of my lashes. Two coats and I was done. I liked that it defined my lashes enough that I noticed a difference, but not so much that it was obvious I was wearing it. A very fine line to walk.

Though it’s advertised as delivering dramatic lashes, I’m not really looking for that. It’s buildable, so I’m sure if that’s what you’re going for, you can layer on more.

This little thing had pretty good wear and it didn’t leave me with any smudges during the day. Then again, every time I use this I forgo my habit of rubbing my eyes.

Two sizes! This comes in a full-sized and travel-sized options! Yay! The travel-sized version is roughly $10 cheaper than the full, which is great if you’re wanting to trial this thing.

The ugly:

This is more of a pro for me, but I know a lot of people will think of this as a con, so here goes. This thing comes off very easily. I’m pretty sure it’s not waterproof.

Fine with me, I hate spending a great deal of time scrubbing that off. But I get that raccoon eyes caused by mascara can suck, so beware.

To that end, I’m pretty sure smudges will happen. I’ve been able to avoid this, but that’s largely because I selectively choose when to use this. I don’t use it for instances I’m going to be out for very long, so no crazy work days and no days when I’m likely to be really tired.

While I like the wand, I found it to be too big. That might just be because I got a sample and it was awkward to use. But I also think I’m just not comfortable with how big the brush is. It’s like a big bumblebee coming close to my eye. I dunno, it just freaks me out a bit. But it gives me such a good lash. This leaves me so conflicted!

The curse of the Asian lash. I didn’t really notice this giving me a good curl. While these lengthen, I found them to be absolutely useless for curl.

Would I purchase?

Maybe.

Smoky Extravagant (travel-sized, $14 CDN plus tax+shipping; full-sized $28 CDN plus tax+shipping) can be found at Sephora, online and in-store.

6 thoughts on “Sample Selection Saturday | Make Up For Ever Smoky Extravagant mascara

  1. I looooove this mascara! It’s definitely one of my faves. Though I’ve recently started using Flamed Out by Covergirl that gives me very similar lashes!

    1. Jodi! Does it make yours curl and does the trial- or full-sized wand make a difference because it kind of still freaks me out when I do my lashes. Let me know!

  2. I have both the bday sample and a full size of this mascara, but I’m not 100% sold on it. I mean, it’s a good mascara, but it hasn’t made HG status by any means for me. Too Faced Better Than Sex still reigns supreme! Hahah

    1. Yeah. I mean, aside from the wand sometimes freaking me out, it’s a good mascara. But it’s not HG-level yet. I’ll spring for the trial-size though and investigate further!

  3. Hi Tiff!

    I’m sorry for not being around for months and I know I missed a lot of your posts.

    But today, this one grabs my attention because I love putting mascara on my lashes too much, I don’t care if it put weight on my lashes hehe.. I think this one is close to perfect only if it’s waterproof 🙂

    1. No worries Jhem! I took a break from blogging so I understand not keeping up! I do have another mascara that is really waterproof. It’s so hard to wash off! It’s cheaper than the MUFE too! But this one is pretty good. Just…it can rub off pretty quickly!

Leave a Reply

