Skin Food serum cactus review

Review | Skin Food Agave Cactus Serum

Skin Food serum cactus review

My lovely friend sent me a wonderful care package that really helped this #shopthestash feel a little easier to do.

In her intense and generous package was this little guy from Skin Food. I’m not close to a store anymore so I was really keen to try out this item!

What is it:

A hydrating anti-aging serum designed to fight dull skin and fine lines.

Ingredients: (Active) Dimethicone 1% (Inactives) water, agave tequilana leaf extract, alcohol denatured, butylene glycol, glycereth-26, macadamia ternifolia seed oil, arbutin, bis-peg-18 methyl ether dimethyl silane, glycerin, lactobacillus ferment lysate filtrate, erythritol,opuntia ficus-indica stem extract, isohexadecane, honey extract, cereus gandiflorus (cactus) flower extract, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7, hydrolyzed viola tricolor extract, bisabolol, palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, adenosine, maackia fauriei stem extract, cholesterol, propylene glycol, isostearyl neopentanoate, lecithin polysorbate 20, triethanolamine, carbomer, allantoin, disodium EDTA, hydrogenated lecithin, glyceryl polymethacrylate, anthan gum, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, tocopheryl acetate, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, fragrance, FD&C blue no.1 (CI42090), FD&C yellow no.5 (CI 19140)

Claims:

The Agave Cactus Serum is supposed to be anti-aging, fighting wrinkles and keeping your skin bright. This is due to Agave, the featured ingredient and what Skin Food dubs “Nature’s Reservoir”.

How do you use it?:

You can use this after toner and apply directly onto the face.

Packaging:

The outside packaging doesn’t wow me. It looks a bit gaudy with the green ombré and the shiny sticker and ornate lid don’t really jump out to me or attract me to a purchase. This is one of those cases where the actual product has to compel me into another purchase. However, this is really consistent with other serums from Skin Food, so it is what it is. I do like that it’s an opaque bottle which helps protect any sort of degradation which might happen when exposed to sunlight.

What I do really like is what’s underneath the cap! Take the lid off and behold a convenient and hygienic pump.

First impressions:

Right out of the pump, the serum is a milky white. It’s light and spreads easily, but it is a bit thicker than regular serums I’ve tried.

This has the consistency of a serum or essence which is great because it opens up a lot of possibilities! Oh, the possibilities!

The smell is a bit strong, but it’s not unpleasant. It smells crisp and a little bit sweet, but not really like agave (which I have smelled–I went to an agave plant when I was in Mexico years ago).

As a serum, I find this to be pretty effective at what it does. It’s quite moisturizing and really preps my skin for the rest of my steps–eye cream, cream (and SPF in the daytime).

Takeaway:

I like this serum. It’s quite inexpensive and I like how effective it is. I’ve been using it for two months and am keenly aware of the difference in my skin if I skip this serum. It feels tight and itchy all around.

It’s great for day and night. I love using it during the day because it helps my SPF from drying out my skin. (It’s not normally so drying, but it is still winter after all).

This would be great for combination and normal skin types who are feeling a little dry. It could also provide some relief for dry and dehydrated skin types. Oily skin types are better off skipping this serum.

If you aren’t close to a Skin Food store, you’ll have to purchase it off online from a reseller. It will likely still be inexpensive compared to most serums, even with the shipping and customs that may be included. But its inaccessibility is a big detractor for me on something that would ordinarily be a no-brainer purchase.

Bottom line: this is a quality serum. It’s hydrating, light and it’s cheap. If it were easily available to me, there would be little to stop me from buying it.

If I find a local reseller that stocks this reliably I might just buy this again and again.

Will I purchase?

Yes.

Agave Cactus Serum (45 ml, ~$15-20 CDN) can be found at Skin Food stores, online at Global GMarket and other retailers.

 

Leave a Reply

