LuLuLun 7-day brightening mask review

March Mask-ness | The Daily Edition, mid-week update

LuLuLun 7-day brightening mask reviewI know I said this would come last Thursday, but that didn’t work out. But I did promise a mid-week update for the daily mask from Japan’s LuLuLun. It’s part of the wonderful month that is March Mask-ness.

Some background on LuLuLun

LuLuLun is a Japanese skin care company that seems to only sell one product in three variations: masks. At least, that’s what I can glean from their website!

LuLuLun masks come in a 7-pack and a massive 42-pack.

The particular mask is designed to brighten skin–lightening discoloration and busting dullness out of your skin.

What’s it like–packaging:

I’ve never had a ziplock baggie full of masks before and I was sort of fearing all kinds of hot messes to occur. Especially since I noticed that the company had recently redesigned their packaging to make it smaller and less unwieldy.

I was right. It did cause problems.

There isn’t a lot of serum in the bag, which is great because you’re not liable to scoop it out. All of the sheets are nicely folded and stacked on top of each other in a tiny, cotton cube at the end of the bag. Ah, but it won’t be tidy for that long!

I found that I didn’t need tongs to pull off the masks which is nice. I used a small, clean makeup spatula though so I wouldn’t have my grubby fingers touching the unused masks.

What’s it like–application:

The first day was a bit of a struggle. I don’t know why. I’ve been using sheet masks for years and it was like opening up that first one was my very first time.

The paper is really thin compared to any of the sheet masks I use on the regular. It is liable to tear. If you’re prone to frustration and impatient, steer clear from this mask.

What’s it like–effects and experience:

It’s early days yet so I don’t want to pass judgement on this mask. It is a brightening mask though and as far as day 4 is concerned, I don’t see any discernible changes.

Fit problems.

There are lots of places to tear but they’re all perforated and relatively in tact. It’s up to you to do the full punch out (eye sockets and edges of the mask).

Can someone tell me if Japanese masks typically include the eye socket pocket? I only have the blank Daiso kind and they don’t have any eye holes. I’ve been doing this for three days and I still forget to punch out the eye sockets before putting it on my face. *sigh*

Odd, but I think this mask is a bit too snug. It doesn’t grasp the edge of my jaw like most masks. Round face problems. I couple this with my Daiso silicone mask so it helps to keep this on my face. If you have a larger face this might not work for you. I’m not entirely sure how it would work on other face shapes, when I think about it.

So far, I haven’t noticed any brightening effects. I’m still optimistic, though!

Leave a Reply

