Sample Saturday Selection: Amore Pacific Vitalizing Masque

AMtoPM Amore Pacific Moisture Bound Vitalizing Masque review

It’s still winter and I’m still reaching for my moisturizing masks. Who else is with me?!

What is it?

A moisturizing mask offering from Amore Pacific. You may have heard of them. They’re stocked in Sephora and are one of the most bougie of the Korean brands. They’re also the parent company for some more well-known and more affordably-priced brands (Innisfree, Etude House, Laneige).

I was pretty stoked when I tried the line’s Moisture Bound rejuvenating creme so I was hopeful that this would be just as well received.

In brief: the good and the ugly

The Good:

Like the name suggests, it does provide a lot of moisture to your face. Revitalizing it and transforming it from the sandpaper-y mess it was to the plump and soft face I woke up to.

I think you would be able to use this as both a short and traditional mask (10-20 minutes) but also for overnight use. I used it as an overnight mask and it was great. The versatility of this adds value to the mask, though I would personally just use it as an evening treatment.

It sets within 5 minutes of applying onto the face. This is largely due to how lightweight the mask is. I put a light layer and the white mask applied evenly, quickly and clear on my face.

Rinsing off the mask unearthed a calm and plump face. My skin reached Goldilocks-level hydration: not too oily, not too dry; just right.

No irritation. I have pretty sensitive skin–my skin turns red whenever I oil cleanse my face. To that end, my caution to not bring on my skin’s wrath wars constantly with my love to try something novel. Luckily this mask didn’t cause my skin to break out, get itchy, turn red. Or worse.

The Bad:

I’m going to be straight with you. You can no longer get this mask. It’s rebranded to the Moisture Bound mask. I’m not entirely sure if it’s just a name change or if they changed the formula. I’m making it my mission to find out though!

It feels a bit tacky and it after it sets it leaves a hint of shine. It’s good and bad.

I don’t know if I’m being sensitive but this had a bit of scent too it. It was a light floral smell that didn’t agree with me. It lingered for a while and I don’t know if I would be able to use a full-sized version of this to the end. I do like how well the mask performed, but the scent has made me on the fence about this being a guaranteed buy.

Pricy. Amore Pacific is one of those brands where you really pay for your product. Are there similar products out there that will probably deliver similar results? Probably. This line is pretty good though. My main quibble with any Moisture Bound products I used was the fact it cost so much. The versatility of this mask really opens a lot of possibilities for how you use it.

This would be good to use in the winter for most skin types; frequent long-haul flyers; those times you’ve partied hard and your skin needs to recover from all the mayhem (New Year’s Day, Mardi Gras, the day after your birthday) and all the days your skin needs an extra special boost in hydration.

Would I purchase?

Yes. Can I? Unfortunately, no.

Leave a Reply

