Nature Republic Super Origin Complete Cover CC cream tinted review

Sample Selection Saturday | Nature Republic Super Origin Complete Control CC Cream

Nature Republic Super Origin Complete Cover CC cream tinted review
Normally I stay away from Asian bases. As a rule, they don’t look quite right on my face. There are two exceptions to this rule. Might this be another to add to the exceptions list? Read on to find out!

What is it:

A CC cream from Nature Republic. This particular one has a bit of a tint to it. If you don’t really like that you can try the brightening formula (a bright pink) or the colour change CC (a scary looking white that slowly oxidizes to your skin tone).

In brief: the good and the ugly

The Good:

Like last week’s sample selection, this has SPF. At SPF 30/PA++ it provides solid protection. Good enough for a workday, so long as you don’t bike or walk to work a long distance.

Scary upon first squeeze but blended well onto the face. This comes out a very light taupe, but it really warmed up to my light-medium yellow. I am at my lightest right now, so that’s something to keep in mind.

The initial finish is something that I really appreciate. It makes my skin look fresh and dewy – this CC cream is a lifesaver considering how pallid, lifeless and dry it normally looks during this time of year.

Pretty good coverage. It’s light-medium coverage, but can be buildable. Don’t get too carried away though, otherwise it looks really cakey. This covered some healing spots and slight redness on my cheeks and around my nose.

So light! Not only did it feel like nothing, it looked like nothing. Sometimes BB and CC creams can look a bit heavy, despite using it sparingly. This just makes my skin look a bit better than a good skin day.

Pleasant floral smell upon application. While stippling I did notice a light floral scent, but the smell disappeared a couple minutes after I applied it.

The Ugly: 

This may not be a flattering foundation when taking pictures for many. Again, due to the SPF.

May be too shiny for some people. It’s the middle of winter, a time when my normally combination skin morphs into normal-to-dry skin. What started out as dewy (without setting powder) quickly turned very shiny in a matter of hours. Not quite what I had in mind. Steer clear if you have very oily skin, this definitely isn’t for you. I would recommend it to all other skin types, so long as you prime and set this or blot before putting BB or a base on top. I used this twice with a primer and some powder over top and didn’t run into any shiny problems.

Darker skin types will not really like this particular CC cream. If you want to try one, I’d suggest the one that’s white and changes colour. This already has a tint. While it oxidizes with time, you still have to be within the ballpark of the swatch.

Would I purchase?

Maybe.

Super Origins Complete Control CC cream (45 g,  ) can be found in store at Nature Republic stores and online at Global GMarket.

4 thoughts on “Sample Selection Saturday | Nature Republic Super Origin Complete Control CC Cream

  1. yea a high spf is def a good and i’m making sure to put spf on every day now. mmm sounds like color match isn’t good here and i think you’re a bit darker than me (if your twitter photo is anythign to go on ) so MAYBE this might work but…i have so many other bases, i’m being trying to make things ‘work’ anymore.

    Jenn
    A Beautiful Zen

    1. Hey Jenn! Yes–colour match is a bit lacking, but honestly that’s my main gripe about Asian/K-beauty base. I’m a special case: that photo is me in natural light during my pale phase. It really depends on how much you want to make something work. For me, this would work–MAYBE–for a month or two. I did get the tinted version, though. If you did want to try this, the white one would be a better bet since I’m sure that would oxidize better and adapt to more skintones.

    1. This particular one or the white one that oxidizes to your skintone?! I think I’d probably be better off getting the white one since this wouldn’t work outside a couple months out of the year.

Leave a Reply

