coconut oil Jack Black lip balm Face shop sheet masks Nature Republic sun liquid unicorn farts eyeliner

Empties | January

coconut oil Jack Black lip balm Face shop sheet masks Nature Republic sun liquid unicorn farts eyeliner
My first empties of the year and the first one where I shopped the stash!

A quick mental tally told me that at the start of the year my stash was about $200 less than my original tally. January’s empties took about $60 off the tally. It’s just under $1000 now! Yay!

Smashbox always sharp eyelinerRegrettably this is one of those products that I fell in love with and then fell out of love with. I love the packaging and the fact that this is always sharp. The application turned a bit onerous after a while, though.

Smashbox always sharp eyeliner can be found online and in store at Sephora, Shoppers Drug Mart and Murale.

Nature Republic Non Chemical sun liquid | This is my favourite sun liquid for my face, neck and chest. I’ve gone through my third bottle and I am still not tired of it. I have two more bottles of this. With any luck, I’ll be able to finish the year without having to purchase more.

Until Nature Republic gets a store in Canada or makes online shopping a reality, you can purchase via Global Market, Amazon and eBay. Or save a massive shopping list for trips to America.

Jack Black SPF lip balm (Mint) | I always keep a SPF with me. I walk around a lot and my lips need protection too. This is awesome. I love the mint version and it goes on smoothly and hydrates for a really long time.

Jack Black can be found in store and online at Sephora.

Unicorn Farts | I love this lip balm so much! It’s the best! And not just because it’s called Unicorn Farts! So moisturizing and has a blast of minty goodness. Plus, unicorn farts.

Unicorn Farts can be found online at Long Winter Farm.

Coconut Oil | One of my standbys. I love coconut oil so much. Aside from the fact it’s generally very yummy – try cooking with it, it’s so GOOD – it acts as body moisturizer, cleanser, eye cream, deodorant, eye makeup remover, makeup remover and a very good, cheap (but messy) hair mask. Frankly, I’m surprised this little jar lasted for so long.

Coconut oil can be found at grocery stores, natural health stores and online at iHerb and Amazon.

Sheet masks | These are from The Face Shop–the Korean one, not the Canadian location hence all the hangul and old packaging. Still good though, through 2016! Those two are kelp and pomegranate. Both are pretty moisturizing given how serum-laden these tend to be, but they serve different purposes. The kelp is supposed to deep cleanse skin and the pomegranate is supposed to leave skin more radiant. My skin is so ridiculously soft after putting these things on, it’s worth wearing a wet rag on my face for 20 minutes!

sample selection saturday

Clarins Beauty Flash Balm |  This moisturizer/primer (and sometimes mask) is a lifesaver for busy people or people who like to sleep in. Works like a dream, but boy is it expensive.

Dr. Alkaitis Organic Day Crème | A luxe and lightweight day moisturizer. Super gentle and full of great natural ingredients.

Innisfree Air Skin Fit BB Cream | For the fair-skinned among us, this is a pretty good option. Lightweight, good coverage and SPF.

stash amount: -$75.

* Each month going forward I’m going to do a rough tally of how much the stash has gone down, in terms of cost.

4 thoughts on “Empties | January

    1. Hey Chelsea! Thanks for stopping by! Yes–I love cooking with coconut oil. I go through so much it’s a bit ridiculous. Have you tried other oils for your skin? Almond oil is great as well for an overall moisturizer!

  1. WOW! Well done you! You’re working through so much so quickly. That’s really good and just makes you feel like #shopthestash is worth it right?

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Coconut Oil!!! Cannot live without it, though I am yet to cook with it.

    Sal xxx | UmmBaby

    1. Thanks Sal! I feel so great rediscovering all the things that I’ve sort of left behind for something newer and shinier. It’s definitely made no spend a lot easier!

      Cooking with coconut oil is amazing! I go through so much of it for lightly sauteing vegetables. SO GOOD!

Leave a Reply

