Dr Alkaitis Organic Day Creme Review

Sample Selection Saturday | Dr. Alkaitis Organic Day Crème

Dr Alkaitis Organic Day Creme Review
I love skin care. This whole blog is mostly skin care, though we do like to discuss other areas within the beauty umbrella.

One of the steady themes on the blog is my love for anything luxe and “green”. This little dynamo definitely fits nicely within those categories.

What is it:

A really luxe day moisturizer, full of wonderful skin goodies.

In brief: the good and the ugly

The Good:

The ingredients list. For someone who’s really conscious of what their body absorbs this is a hit. The ingredients are gentle and moisturizing with aloe vera and shea butter high on the list.

Lightweight. The consistency of this day crème isn’t really a cream at all – it’s very fluid and spreads evenly. Despite that, it was pretty moisturizing.

Absorbs quickly. Great for the morning rush when you’re short on time, even on a good day.

Super gentle. I have combination and sensitive skin. At no point during my three applications did I experience anything to irritate my skin. No burning. No redness. No itchiness. Nothing.

Scent-sensitive friendly. If you are also someone who gets a little nauseous at a whiff  of strong fragrance, this is for you. There’s a light earthy smell that’s really comforting about it. I can’t quite put my nose on the exact scent, but I think it’s due to the blend of essential oils. It’s very faint and dissipates quickly.

It claims to be a good primer for makeup. I can see that to be the case. It left my face matte and moisturized. However, I never really tried this out since I like to layer a separate SPF before I move onto makeup.

The Ugly: 

This is a tiny sample size. Presumably I’d only get one use out of this, yeah? Well…normally you’d be right, but I checked the usage and it says that to use this sparingly.

Taking that advice I squeezed 2-3 uses out of this. I took the sparingly tip to heart on this one.

The full-sized bottle is tiny at 30 ml (1 fl oz). According to the brand, this yields enough for about 2 months of consistent use. If you want to splurge, this would be one to go all out on.

Think carefully before purchasing if you’re anything like me, a person who likes to have a variety of creams and potions at their disposal. This might get lost in the fray and get lost in the stash.

The cost is a bit prohibitive. I mentioned it was luxe and it is. This moisturizer is around $78 CDN (~$70 USD). At that price, it’s only prudent to be certain this will work for you. Ask for a sample if it’s possible.

I would definitely recommend this moisturizer. However, I’m all for beauty at every cost. While this is a good day cream, there are similar ones out there that are eco-friendly or as effective at lower price points.

Would I purchase?

Maybe.

Organic Day Crème (30 ml, $78 CDN plus tax) can be found online at Eco Diva Beauty or at select retailers

3 thoughts on “Sample Selection Saturday | Dr. Alkaitis Organic Day Crème

    1. Thanks Kie! I have sensitive skin – so I’m extra cognizant/vigilant of what I use to minimize any sort of irritation. As for the sample, yeah–it’s definitely a premium buy. If possible I highly recommend trying a sample!

Leave a Reply

