Sample Selection Saturday | Clarins Beauty Flash Balm

Clarins Beauty Flash Balm review

Urgh–blaming my lack of posts for the hustle and bustle of the holidays. I had full intentions of blogging through them like NBD but here we are, two weeks into the New Year, with the first Sample Selection of the year.

The good thing is I’ve fully used it up, putting it through some massive use prepping my face for holiday parties.

This was something I was really excited to try, as it’s been fairly well-received (and hyped up) in beauty circles.

What is it:

This premium concoction from Clarins is a moisturizer/primer hybrid. It’s designed to brighten and moisturize to give your face a refreshed look even if you might not be on the inside.

Oh yeah, it can also be used as a quick 10-minute mask to rejuvenate the skin.

In brief: the good and the ugly

The Good:

I like the multi-use aspect. I’ve never had a moisturizer, primer and mask product before and the possibility of using one thing for all three purposes makes me a little giddy. Sadly, I only tried using it as a moisturizer and primer. There wasn’t enough product for a mask, since I wanted to judge this on a couple of uses.

As a primer/moisturizer this lived up to the hype. First, let’s talk moisturizing. This is the best! Recently there was a bit of a cold snap and I’ve had to redo my base a couple times because it just looked whack due to dry skin issues.

I slapped this on and BAM! All of the weird dry skin issues vanished. My base looked so much better. It’s a good moisturizer. I wore this without makeup and with makeup and it lasted for a good day without making my cheeks or jawline tight, dry and flaky.

Makeup looked great on top of this but, as I said, it could be largely due to the moisture it added to my face.

The Ugly: 

For some, the price can be a bit prohibitive. The bottle is tiny. At $50 CDN (plus tax) it’s not something that I would normally purchase. For me, at this point in my life I don’t have the lifestyle to warrant a purchase. Not to mention the ability to purchase. My skin doesn’t stress out too easily and I don’t normally need something like this. A better alternative for me would be to do better in practicing self-care.

The Beauty Flash Balm boasts brightening and tightening properties. My skin glowed when I used this but it’s because my skin was moisturized. That’s what happens when my skin is all plump and soft.

As far as tightening goes, I didn’t notice anything. I think that comes with long-term use. I don’t really need the tightening aspect, so I’m not too fussed I didn’t experience it.

I think this would be great for a busier person. It’s a great multitasker. Busy moms, professionals, start-up CEOs and people who go to a lot of fancy parties will get a lot of use out of this. Ditto social butterflies who would rather spend time networking  and spa junkies who want to feel luxe, decadent and come out the other side blissed out without spending all day at a spa.

Would I purchase?

Maybe. One day after #shopthestash.

Beauty Flash Balm (50 ml, $50 CDN + tax) can be found online and in-store at Sephora and Murale, as well as in store at Shoppers Drug Mart.

5 thoughts on “Sample Selection Saturday | Clarins Beauty Flash Balm

  1. Hey! 🙂 Thanks for leaving your link in the blog chat – you have a lovely blog. I completely agree that it’s more useful for a busier person but not really that much of a different for those that already have a good skincare routine and moisturiser etc! it’s just quite expensive for something that’s just a bit extra. I look forward to seeing your future posts 🙂

    All the best, Saida xx
    saidacane.co.uk

    1. Thanks for dropping by Saida! Yes–if I were busier or if I didn’t already have a skincare regimen I can do half-asleep, I would go for it. But it really is good! Just not right for me right now 🙂

  2. I’m using a Nivea primer / moisturiser hybrid now and I love the concept as I hate having to add even more steps into my makeup routine. I also love Clarins as a brand. I seem to fall in love with everything I try from them. The price is obviously a down side but for 50ml is not too bad and you get what you pay for with high end, most of the time anyway (in my opinion). I’m gonna give it a try once my Nivea primer runs out. I love and need hydrating products in my stash. xx

    Renata | Speaking Beauty UK

    1. Hi Renata! I don’t disagree it’s good, but I’m conscious that other people’s beauty budgets are not as generous as mine. I think it’s great but a quick fix at most. A band-aid solution that disguises lacklustre skin. But good for people to have at the ready if they find themselves crunched for time. Thanks for commenting and stopping by!

Leave a Reply

