#shopthestash: Skin edition

AMtoPM organize beauty inventory stash homekeeping

A new year, a new skin care and beauty routine.

Part of my beauty resolutions for the year was to shop the stash.

Since I finished many products in one go last month, I thought I would start the new year fresh with a (slightly) new skin care routine.

For day: 

Rosewater and Glycerin toner | After a quick rinse, I spritz this on for a quick hit of moisture. Refreshing!

Coconut oil | My substitute eye cream.

Missha Super Aqua Snail Cream | This is my second jar and I still love it. It’s lightweight and incredibly moisturizing. It absorbs quickly so I don’t need to do wait forever for my skin to absorb it before moving onto the all-important step of SPF and makeup.

Nature Republic UV Lock Non-chemical Sun Liquid | Every time I use this I gush. This sun liquid is amazing and weighs nothing on my face. I’ve gone through a couple bottles of this and am probably going to go through many more. For someone who usually goes on to a new product, this is an anomaly.

Missha All-around Safe Block | I shouldn’t harp on winter so much; it could be infinitely worse. I can still wear flats and go without gloves most days. With that said, I keep a small tube of SPF with me to take care of these bits as well as my neck and chest, for insurance. It’s a true sunblock (physical as opposed to chemical sunscreen) so my hands look even paler when I first apply it. It’s not drying and it gives me adequate protection when I’m out and about.

Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm with SPF | I’m almost at the end of this tube, squeezing as much as I can out of it before I go on to its replacement from my latest Sephora haul.

For night:

Aura Cacia Sweet Almond Oil | Last month, I was all about oil cleansing. I’m usually all about oils year-round, but I really embraced DIY and OCM. Unlike last month, this version is slightly better with only two ingredients: sweet almond oil and some Vitamin E.

Washcloths for oil cleansing

Rosewater and Glycerin toner | Originally I was going to use this strictly as an ingredient for my DIY serum. It’s really good as a toner – delivering some extra moisture to my skin prepping it for the rest of my routine. The slight rose scent is an extra bonus, reminding me that spring is just around the corner. Thank goodness.

DIY Vitamin C serum | This is something that I’ve used for a while and I love it. Moisturizing and brightening without the heavy cost of store-bought serums. And it makes me feel like a mad  genius scientist mixing up this concoction.

Facial oils | I couldn’t decide between just one so I’m going with two of my current favourites: argan oil and marula oil.

Smith’s Minted Rose Lip Balm | I got this forever ago, but I’ve only just hit pan on it recently. Don’t worry – it’s got a 30-month shelf life, so it’s not going to expire any time soon. I’ve used this when my lips were so chapped and cracked, they were almost bleeding. Super hydrating and perfect for nighttime use.

Weekly Treatments:

Cure Natural Aqua Gel | I love this stuff so much. So much so I brought three bottles from Japan with me. It’s so gentle and effective. It’s wonderful to use. I use it once a week to help shed dull and dead winter skin, but it’s good year-round.

The Face Shop Blackhead Clay Nose Pack | Oil cleansing really has helped cut down on my blackheads, but a couple of stubborn spots hang around. I notice them even more now that there are so few of them. Once a week I can’t take it and slap this on for 20 minutes while I zone out to some Netflix.

An episode of Friends is roughly the amount of time it takes to fully dry. It does the job of plucking the survivors out and it’s incredibly fun peeling this off my skin.

Missha Super Aqua Snail Sleeping Mask | There are times when I need to up my hydration game. Enter this sleeping mask. I have yet to try it, but I’m hoping it’s as good as the snail cream from the same line.

Lush Mint Julips scrub | Lip scrubs for occasional sloughing of dead skin. Because lips need some love and scrubs too!

 

12 thoughts on “#shopthestash: Skin edition

  1. Interesting! It’s nice to see what other people are using once in a while. We haven’t heard of most of the things mentioned, so it’s great for us to take note and try something new. We are particularly intrigued by the rosewater toner and cocnut oil eye cream!

    M + K

    1. Hello! First off, thanks for dropping a little note and stopping by! Second, it’s so nice to see another blogging duo. We’re pretty rare! Can’t recommend those two things enough! The rosewater is pretty amazing. Ditto the eye cream. I use pure, organic, virgin and cold-pressed coconut oil and it’s amazing. Be careful though, since it’s an oil don’t get too close to your irises. Blindness isn’t what I was going for.

    1. I haven’t tried their body oil, but thanks for the heads up! Heritage also has the rosewater without the glycerin, which is really nice too if you don’t like (nor want) the added moisture!

    1. The Hera is some CC cream. The best CC cream I’ve tried – sadly it’s only two shades. Pinky beige and yellowy beige. Their stuff is so good, but since it’s high-end it’s a bit pricey.

    1. This is just a sliver of what I have. For eye cream, I just take a bit of coconut oil and decant it into an empty jar and scoop a bit as needed under my eyes. Not too close to the eye, since eye cream creeps up over time. I’ve heard of people adding in oils, but I prefer not to.

  2. I’ve tried the coconut oil as an eye-cream. got it too close to the eyes unfortunately. But I will persevere and try again. Great to see you working through the stash!

    1. Oh no! So sad to hear that! Eye cream, in general, is something I put far away since I know it creeps up over time and settle naturally under the eye. I exercise even more caution with coconut oil. Let me know how it goes! And if it still doesn’t work, let me know how the eye cream search goes!

Leave a Reply

