The best of 2014

The past year was a great year for me in terms of beauty and skin care. I went through a bunch of my samples and got all of my beauty stockpile organized.

It’s what we do and know so well on the blog.

Here’s a look back at some of the products and posts that I loved over the last 12 months.

The year of oils | I haven’t met an oil that I haven’t loved. I hope that day never happens. *Knocks on wood* Some of my favourite oils have been coconut oil and argan oil.

SPF all year round | Probably my favourite sunblock to use was Nature Republic’s non-chemical sun liquid. Lightweight, gentle and went on matte, as opposed to shiny. An added bonus, considering most sun blocks and sunscreens tend to make my face super shiny.

Tools to get the job done | I love a good tool, especially a cleansing one. I bought this Foreo Luna about a year ago and have no complaints. It comes in a mini size as well as a bunch for different skin types, so there’s one for everyone! This next one isn’t a tool but it’s a damn good cleanser. Bioderma Créaline is a much-hyped product for a reason. It just works.

Novel skin care | Last year was my first real foray into all things Lush. I loved this Herbalism cleanser, which is not how your typical cleanser is packaged. It was a great addition to my summer routine and it really helped keep my combination skin matte-free without drying out the non-oily bits. Another one that I loved was Missha Super Aqua Snail Cream. Fear not – it’s not fresh slime off a snail. This stuff is lightweight, smells nice and is pretty hydrating. The gold packaging is a solid bonus.

Hydration for healthy hands and other bits | Hands are arguably the most hardworking parts of my body. They do all the typing and texting after all. And they’re subject to the elements. Skin Food shea butter was a dream. Portable and creamy, this lived in my bag the whole time I had it. Weleda skin food is a step up from shea butter. It’s super hydrating and stands up to harsh winter conditions. Bonus, it’s great at healing chapped lips! On the other end of the spectrum, Nature Republic aloe gel was a clear winner for the summer. It delivered a light coat of hydration to soothe, cool and moisturize skin sun-kissed skin!

————

What were your favourites for 2014? Let me know
in the comments below or via social media.

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Google+ | She Said Beauty

12 thoughts on “The best of 2014

  1. Great picks! I’m intrigued by the Lush cleanser, it looks…unusual! haha. I’m a fan of using oils too, avocado oil and coconut especially. Castor oil to promote brow and lash growth, also! I’ve recently posted my makeup and skincare favourites for 2014 on my blog, if you fancy checking them out 🙂

    alicegracebeauty.com

    x

    1. Thanks for stopping by Alice! I haven’t tried avocado oil yet, but am dying to try it. I hear a lot of people recommend it. Herbalism is great, especially for normal and combination skin. I love it and as soon as summer rolls around, I’ll probably purchase it again!

    1. Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Toni! Yes–totally agree with the Lush comment. I’ve recently become in love with Lush. They have some good stuff!

    1. Thanks Helen! I had the opportunity to try some awesome products last year! Let me know if you try them! I’d love to know how they work out for you.

    1. Really? I had no idea! I think they do carry it, but it’s hard to find. I know for sure you can get it in New York. Maybe try online? It really is amazing!

    1. I love snail cream so much! I want to try Benton’s one day. I just have so much of the Missha one. The aloe one is pretty good! Every brand has their version, but that particular one always seems to sell out. The Face Shop has one similarly priced–if I remember correctly–theirs has slightly more aloe…

Leave a Reply

