AMoPM beauty stash cost

Skin resolutions!

AMoPM beauty stash costHappy New Year!

With a new year comes a new beginning! I’m a sucker for symbolic days like this and I’ve come up with some skin resolutions to make this year the year I have the best skin I’ve ever had.

Sleep more I’ve been a night owl for as long as I can remember. I remember arguing with my mom when I was no more than six or seven, trying to see if I could persuade her to postpone my bedtime till 9 ‘o clock. It did not work.

I do my best work at nighttime, including writing posts and shooting and editing photography. But sleep is so important, too! It’s the time when your body

To make going to sleep earlier a lot more pleasant, I’m going to go full-on with my nighttime routine. I haven’t decided what it’ll be yet, but I know it’s going to be intense. Especially during the winter months. Check back for more on a future post!

Stress less Everyone knows stress is bad for you. It’s bad for your emotional health, physical health, mental health and it’s bad for beauty. Stress can manifest itself in the skin through acne, sallow and lifeless complexion, rashes, irritations and wrinkles.

Most of the stuff I stress out about is really inconsequential and, sometimes, self-inflicted. By stressing less, I’ll circumvent that awful feedback cycle of stressing out>breaking out>stressing out because I’m breaking out.

Drink more …water and herbal tea, of course. I don’t drink alcohol, save for when I’m out with friends and I don’t drink coffee. I used to drink pop, but I only do that on rare occasions now. Hot water and lemon is one of my favourite drinks, not just now, but year-round. It’s a great way to wake up in the morning and is a great substitute for tea or coffee. It also helps aid in digestion and boosts immunity.

Eat cleaner There are times I eat very consciously and there are times where I eat like a ten-year-old. Based on my food choices, you’d be hard-pressed to discern whether I was a grown-up or a child with an intense sweet tooth.

My mom always used to say, “You are what you eat”, usually when I’d be stuffing my face with Oreos and chocolate milk. While I rolled my eyes then, I realize how right she was about that everyday. My skin looks a lot healthier, fuller and lively when I get in a daily serving of fruits and veggies. It looks like a hot mess when I decide to go on a sugar, meat and grains pig out.

Parents. Why are they always right about everything?!

Stay protected I do this anyway, but sometimes I forget or am a bit lax about it. Especially when I’m on vacation. The reason? I’m Canadian, the winters are long, cold and dreary here and sometimes I just want a little healthy colour on me.

But a temporary tan isn’t really worth premature spots, wrinkles or worse. Staying protected means SPF every day, especially when I’m near water or on the slopes; seeking shade whenever possible; refraining from going out when the sun is intense (in the afternoon) and utilizing accessories like hats, sunglasses, and even parasols.

Yup. Parasols. I know what you’re thinking! Only old people wear parasols. OK, that’s what I used to think. But my grandma uses a parasol and her skin looks amazing for someone in her mid-80s. She even uses a visor! Naturally, I have taken to using a parasol during really hot days. I don’t care any more. I want to look this young for as long as possible!

Curb the shopping bug This one is hard, because I love to shop and I have a beauty blog. It’s pretty much a given that I have to buy, try and review things to keep this blog running.

This year, I’m going to be shopping the beauty stash instead. I have a small stockpile of things that haven’t been used and it’s about time I used them.

I used to shop pretty indiscriminately – awed by sales, cool packaging and unique product names and ingredients. In recent years, I’ve been more discerning, but there are times when I go a little crazy and purchase stuff that is frivolous and not in line with my day-to-day life, or even a life I sometimes lead.

That’s the only explanation for why I have things like misting sprays. I don’t live in a place that is hot, dry or in an area with hard water. I bought it for sheer novelty and because it’s a bit luxurious to just spritz my face with fancy water in an aerosol can.

Stay committed Most of the people who know me, including Jan, will probably say it’s really hard to keep my attention. Outside of my professional life, my longest relationship – to date – has been to my cell phone provider. I lose interest pretty fast even with things I’m passionate about, including beauty. I tend to buy and leave a half-used bottle in favour of something newer and shinier, only to revisit it months (or years) later wondering when I ever bought it and why.

This year I’m going to completely finish everything I open. The only loophole I’m giving myself is if it gives me a reaction: a mysterious rash, burning, or acne. I’m going to give all my products an honest go and not secretly count the days I can go buy something else.

Cultivate a ritual To me, a ritual is one of those things that signify that you’re a grown-up. Like when you do a weekly grocery run, without fail, instead of having chocolate and crackers as a meal because you ran out of food midweek. This goes hand-in-hand with the resolution above. I don’t know what kind of ritual I’ll start or if I’ll start more than one ritual. If anyone has suggestions, let me know!

 Do you make New Year’s resolutions? What are they? Are some of them skin-related? Let us know in the comments below or connect with us through social media.

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Google+ | She Said Beauty

Leave a Reply

