Vitamin C serum DIY

DIY December: DIY Vitamin C serum

Vitamin C serum DIY

Serums are almost always the priciest skin care product I buy. I’ve tried some amazing ones; I’ve tried some awful ones.

The last one I tried did nothing noticeable and I was loathe to purchase something pricy only to be disappointed yet again.

I’ve always wanted to try a Vitamin C serum, but all of the options I looked at were fairly expensive. Not wanting to try something and feel cheated, I went to Makeup Alley one night.

As with most instances a few minutes on Makeup Alley devolved into an hour or two reading through reviews, Googling people’s recipes and checking ingredient reviews and recommendations.

Diy vitamin c serum: an under 5-ingredient diy

You will need:
– an empty bottle, preferably a dark colour (I reused this one from Josie Maran, but empty ones can be found at Whole Foods and over at Etsy. If you can, try getting one with an airless pump).
– Vitamin C crystals, these are from NOW
– a liquid of your choice. I chose to go with rosewater + glycerin from Heritage
– essential oils, not required but go for it if you want an extra dose of hydration

Supporting players: the tools to make the serum

– A measuring spoon and a fork to whisk
– A bowl
– A funnel, optional, to put the serum into your container.

1. Gather your materials
2. Measure your materials and mix them together | For this particular recipe, I used 1/4 tsp of Vitamin C crystals and 3/4 of rosewater+glycerin. In a bowl I whisk it up until everything is thoroughly dissolved.
3. Carefully pour it in your bottle | Use a funnel like I do if you are cursed with shaky hands. For extra insurance I put a plate underneath the bottle.
4. Store in a dark place and shake before application | I can honestly say shaking is my favourite part of this serum. A good shake is needed to mix the ingredients together since the powder may settle at the bottom.

Vitamin C: the main ingredient

Vitamin C is a great for topical application. Not only will it keep your immunity up, but it helps brighten and enliven skin.

Not only does it keep dull skin at bay, but it also helps alleviate symptoms of hyper pigmentation.

Vitamin C is a volatile compound that tends to degrade quickly. Making this DIY decide what kind of batch you’ll make: enough for a few days, weeks or a month. If you decide on longer than a few days, keep it in the fridge preferably away from the door and further in the back to delay spoilage.

Vitamin C is an acid and this is a DIY so with all things, patch test first. When deciding on your perfect recipe, definitely consider going with a low percentage of Vitamin C during your first run and built up. Common sense knowledge, I know, but it’s worth reiterating so you can save yourself from any regrettable effects like burning, irritation or stinging.

choose your liquids: glycerin+Distilled water, rosewater, rosewater+gylcerin

Glycerin + Distilled Water | I chose not to go with this route because I didn’t want to go through the trouble of distilling water, which is easy but time-intensive. I also wanted to try rosewater, which would allow for a little more hydration than this option without resorting to adding essential oils.

If you have dry skin or you know that you have issues with glycerin, either skip this option or go of a lower percentage of glycerin and add in some oils.

Glycerin, although an emmolient, can exacerbate dry skin if there is a lot of it present without additional oils or liquids to accompany it. I didn’t want to chance it since I knew my skin was going to be a bit on the dry side with all the wind and cold so I took a pass on this option.

Rosewater | Rosewater is pretty moisturizing. It softens the skin and it’s very gentle. It also smells really great and is very refreshing. It’s pretty inexpensive; I’ve seen a jar of it at my market, bottles of Heritage at the health store and can easily be done DIY by plucking some petals from your garden and boiling them in distilled water.

I wanted a little more hydration than this so opted for the last choice.

Rosewater + Glycerin | The best of both worlds for my skin. Although I’m sure you could DIY this as well, I didn’t want to bother with extra steps. Plus I wanted something that could keep for a while, since it’s winter and fresh roses are unavailable. (DIY rosewater has a shelf life of a month or less.)

This has the moisturizing properties of both glycerin and rosewater and works well for my combination skin.

The pros and cons of diy serum

Pros:

• The serum is fresh.
• This is relatively cheap.
• This lasts a long time. Supplies can go for a couple months to a year depending on the quantity you buy and how many ingredients you use. Right now I’ve had my serum for about 6 months. I still have a ton left to use!

Cons:

• It’s work. You have to gather the materials (measuring spoons, Vitamin C powder, beakers, bowls and liquids) as well as assemble the serum.
• The serum has to be made in small batches and often.

my verdict: Diy

I really like this particular recipe I’ve concocted. It’s been a couple months and in that time, I haven’t noticed any irritation. As far as results go, I have noticed that some of my pigmentation issues have faded.

Experiment and don’t forget to patch test before you go all out and apply the serum to your whole face!

2 thoughts on “DIY December: DIY Vitamin C serum

    1. Me too, Jay! Guilty of being too eager to gather up the materials and then too “busy” to end up going through with most of my plans. I’ll be your DIY accountability buddy if you want!

Leave a Reply

