Karina Giving Beauty serum review

Sample Selection Saturday | Kahina Brightening Serum

Karina Giving Beauty serum review
Another sample, another serum.

It’s one of my favourite skin care categories. When I find one that agrees with my skin it’s like winning the lottery. When I find one that disappoints me, I feel despair.

So how did this Brightening Serum from Kahina Giving Beauty fare? Read on to find out.

What is it?

This brightening serum is an anti-aging product designed to hydrate, reduce pigmentation and scarring and, well, brighten up your complexion. It features argan oil, as do most products from Kahina, as well as a host of amazing ingredients

In brief: the good and the ugly

The Good: 

The ingredients list. Finally! A serum that doesn’t have water as the first ingredient! (It’s the second, behind aloe). A quick look at the ingredient list already tells me how moisturizing it could be: aloe, argan oil, glycerin, shea butter and rose oil among the list.

It could be because I’m still battling the last vestiges of a cold, but I can’t smell anything. Well, not quite. There’s a vague earthy smell, as if you just left a forest full of evergreens. It’s not bad nor is it strong. It’s barely discernible, only noticeable when you apply it onto your face.

For someone sensitive to smells, this is very good news!

Good for day and night. This is great! I wear a lot of layers during the day (toner, serum, moisturizer, SPF, base/concealer) and at night (toner, essence, serum, facial oil). It doesn’t interfere with makeup or my other skin care products. No irritation. No heaviness. Nothing. It plays well with all the other skin care/beauty items in my arsenal.

Super lightweight. Going back to the last point, it doesn’t feel like anything on my skin. A good thing considering serum is never my last moisturizing step, but rather in the middle. It’s pretty instantaneous absorption.

Again, the packaging. I love the packaging from Kahina Giving Beauty. I have one full-sized ingredient so far and I love it. It’s so pretty and a treat to see on my dresser. You know, if you wanted another reason to purchase the full-sized version, this is one of those things to nudge you in that direction.

The Ugly: 

This isn’t really a bad thing, but all the brightening claims and claims to reduce hyper-pigmentation and scarring are things I couldn’t see from my sample. (On Kahina’s website, it mentions you would have to see results after consistent use for at least a month. Totally understandable.) Obviously, with a sample, I couldn’t see any of these benefits. Those will come with time and regular use.

For 30ml, the cost is pretty steep. It’s not the most expensive serum I’ve tested or purchased but it’s pretty up there. I know it would last for a while, given that you don’t need much of it for an application but I know that some people would find the cost per volume a bit too high.

Would I purchase?

Yes. I think I would purchase it eventually. I’m on a mission to go through a chunk of my stash, so this may be on the “to buy” list for a while.

Brightening serum (30 ml, $72 USD) can be found online at Kahina Giving Beauty (US only). It can also be found online and in-store at approved retailers (30 ml, $86 CDN plus tax).

Leave a Reply

