AMtoPM feature L'Occitane hydra vital cream

Sample Selection Saturday | L’Occitane Angelica Hydra Vital Cream

AMtoPM L'Occitane hydra vital cream reviewThis week we had to put the heat on for the first time. That was a very sad day for me.

Likewise the day where I realized I had to use heavy creams on the daily. That was also sometime this week. Ditto when I had to put on fleece leggings for the first time since spring ended.

It’s been a bad week, overall.

Enter this week’s Sample Selection, a sample of L’Occitane’s Hydra Vital Cream.

One of the few things that wasn’t horrible about the past few days.

what is it:

Hydra Vital Cream is part of L’Occitane’s Angelica range. The cream claims it’s good for uneven skin tone and overall hydration. Taking all of this into account, it seems to be especially good for tired skin and anti-aging.

The Angelica range is named after its namesake, the Angelica herb. In addition to the cream, the range includes facial soap, cleanser, toner, exfoliator, facial mist, essence and a hydration mask.

The plant can be found in the Northern hemisphere and can grow very tall. Angelica is pretty useful; it has a lot of medicinal properties.

In brief: the good and the ugly

The good:

Lightweight. I don’t really like the feel of deep creams, except in the dead of winter. The cream doesn’t feel heavy on my skin, which allows me to wear it night and day. Putting layers of SPF and makeup on top isn’t an issue.

The smell. It’s very light. It doesn’t have an herbal smell – it’s a very vague scent that just disappears shortly after application.

Quick absorption and no residue. Didn’t make my skin oily; in fact it left my skin a bit matte. Usually creams tend to feel heavy and make my T-zone look like a hot mess. Not this cream, though!

This was perfect for my combination skin!

The ugly: 

The price! It is almost $1 to 1 ml and that is outside of my budget.

L’Occitane claims that this cream can provide 48 hours of hydration, based on a clinical test they performed. The test was probably done in the spirit of all experiments, without any sort of variable save for the control. In real life, you probably won’t get these sort of results – I didn’t – so try to take their claims with a grain of salt.

* The sample size didn’t allow me to explore the claim about fixing uneven skin tone. Can’t really speak to that, but the hydration claims – though grossly exaggerated – were pretty bang on.

would i purchase?

No. (Will change to maybe if there’s a sale.)

L’Occitane (50 ml, $46.00 CDN+tax) can be found at L’Occitane and the Bay, in-stores and online. 

2 thoughts on “Sample Selection Saturday | L’Occitane Angelica Hydra Vital Cream

  1. Nice review! I’ve like the L’Occitane products I’ve tried as well but also wouldn’t purchase because of the high price.

    xo T.

    1. Thank you! I would love to purchase it, but unless it’s on sale or promotion, I can’t justify the price. Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

