Summer swaps | Bases

We’re all about skin care here at AM to PM. In an ideal world, I’d get out of my house after slathering on some SPF and go about my day with amazing, luminous skin. Naturally.

Real talk: that’s never going to happen unless I’m just going to exercise, run quick errands, am sequestered at home on the weekends or it’s a really, really good skin day.

I’ve got things to cover too! Undereye circles that I got from staying up late watching Netflix, spots that pop up because I’m hitting a deadline or in major need of a light veil to mask how lifeless my skin looks first thing in the morning.

Coverage can help. Makeup isn’t something I’ve really touched on, but enhancing what you’ve got is really what it’s for. And I’m all about enhancing my skin.

Normally I get away with some concealer or foundation. It’s impossible to use them now. They’re a bit thick and they slide off my face with the heat.

Here are my alternatives.

1. CC cream. CC cream, at least the ones, I’ve tried are a lot less heavier than traditional foundation and cover a great deal more.

Added bonus: The majority of them have added sun protection.

Currently in rotation: Hera CC cream, Etude House CC cream

2. Powder. This is my favourite base switch out there. Powder has mattifying and staying power.

Currently in rotation: Korres Wild Rose Mineral Foundation

3. Primer + a good tinted moisturizer + powder. Anything liquid is something I’ve found, firsthand, best to be avoided when it’s hot outside. A primer will help keep shininess at bay and keep the moisturizer in place. Tinted moisturizer is pretty light and can give a good, light base to cover any minor imperfections.

Currently in rotation: Innisfree No Sebum Mineral Primer, Tarte Smooth Operator finishing powder + Tarte ReCreate primer (discontinued)

 

Leave a Reply

