Review | Coconut Oil

AMtoPM coconut oil.jpg

Coconut oil is one of those very special products that I never get tired of using. It’s one of the few HGs I have.

I could go all day talking about how much I love this product and what I love about this product, but I’ll try to keep it brief.

This product is amazing. It’s cheap, multipurpose and doesn’t have any harmful chemicals. Buy organic, virgin and cold-pressed. You should buy it only if you like coconuts, the scent of coconuts and are not averse to smelling like a coconut.

What is it

Coconut oil is the hardest working thing in my bathroom and kitchen. Don’t worry – I have two different jars!

packaging

It’s really simple and no-nonsense. All coconut oil comes in a jar and in its solidified form. Glass or plastic jars, that’s up to you.

First impressions

Depending on when you use it, the coconut oil can come in its solidified form or in its liquid form.

Pro tip: If it does come solidified and you want to use it in its liquid form, scoop a bit out with a spoon and put in where you want to on your body. The oil should melt when hit with body temperature. If you want to use it for something else, hold or put the jar in some hot water – not boiling! – and wait for it to melt.

Depending on what you use it for, it can be kept in a jar or transferred into a bottle. I find the bottle is really convenient for using as a body moisturizer. I use this one.

I really like using it as a body moisturizer and makeup remover. As a moisturizer I find it light but thoroughly hydrating. I like coconuts so it goes without saying that I wouldn’t mind smelling like one.  Its uses as a makeup remover and oil cleanser are amazing. It takes off everything gently and quickly. Just be smart, especially around the eye area so you don’t end up blinding yourself with coconut oil. Use sparingly and cautiously add a little more if needed. This is a great cleanser, especially on lazy days.

Massage a large, pea-sized portion on the neck and face for about two minutes and let sit for 30 seconds. Then steam! Grab a small bowl and put your face and neck over it for 30 seconds to a minute. Alternatively, soak a warm, clean washcloth with warm water and have it sit atop your face and neck for 30 seconds to a minute. Rinse thoroughly. That’s it!

Note: This works for me and might not necessarily work for other people.

takeaway

Every time I go through a jar it’s like I discover a new way to use coconut oil. So far, I have come up with several uses spanning different aspects. I’ll briefly go through a few of my favourites.

Skin | body moisturizer//makeup remover//eye makeup remover//oil cleanser//eye cream

Hair + Body | scalp treatment – can help with dandruff!//hair mask//leave-in conditioner//oil pulling//shaving cream//easing itchy mosquito bites//DIY deodorant

Cooking | frying//sautéing//baking

Would i repurchase?

Yes.

Coconut oil can be found at all major supermarkets and health food stores. Again, look for cold-pressed, organic and virgin coconut oil. 

4 thoughts on “Review | Coconut Oil

  1. I’m also a fan of coconut oil, it really works well. But usually, I love to use it in my body, and substitute it in my favourite lotion. I love that soft feeling of my skin whenever I touch it.
    I saw the bottle was labeled as organic, how was organic and extra virgin coconut oil are different? Aren’t they the same?

    1. Hi Jhem!

      Thanks for visiting (and commenting)! Organic and extra virgin are different terms. From what I understand, extra virgin is the way it’s been processed. That is, lightly processed (expeller pressing, cold-pressing, etc.) to get from coconut to coconut oil. Organic can mean the type of coconut used. Hope that clears things up for you!

Leave a Reply

