Three things…to beat the heat

My hood is going through a brief heat wave. I love it!

What I don’t love is that slightly gross look I tend to sport when I’m out and about in this heat. Shiny face and I feel just a little bit sticky.

Since sweaty and shiny aren’t a good look for me, I’m sharing some of my favourite products for staying and looking cool when it’s so hot.

1. Etude House Wonder Pore Freshener: It’s something I’ve talked about in the past. While I love its makeup removing superpowers, it also works well as a mist. I don’t notice any of the benefits that the bottle purports – deep cleansing, smaller pores, refined skin tone. What I do notice is a nice layer of moisture to my skin right when it needs it.

Pro tip: transfer some of the freshener into a small spritz bottle and mist and refresh your look.

Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner can be found online.

2. Avène Thermal Water This is quite possibly the most frivolous and wasteful thing that I have ever bought, in terms of skin care. Most people will get more out of it if they live in an area that has hard water since rinsing your face with hard water is not good for the skin. Fortunately, I now live in an area with soft water which is amazing for skin and hair.

Now, its only true moment of glory is the month and a half of summer where I spritz myself with some water and mist my skin when it needs an extra dose of cooling and moisturizing love. It’s good to use after applying makeup to set it, use throughout the day as a mist and good on sunburns.

Pro tip: Keep it in the fridge for extra cooling powers.

Though if anyone is interested, I did live in an area with hard water before and I used a full bottle of this thing and my skin stopped having crazy breakouts.

Pro tip: If you live in an area that has soft water, what you could do to save money is DIY. Hit the dollar store for a spritz bottle and fill it up with regular water. I don’t know how it’ll set your makeup but it should be a pretty comparable alternative.

If you live in an area with hard water, have skin and hair that is sensitive to it and/or want the makeup setting benefits, just bite the cost and head to the drugstore for any thermal water.

Avène can be found in Murale and select drugstores, including London Drugs and Shoppers Drug Mart.

3. Nature Republic AloeI haven’t reviewed this yet, but just know that I love it. It’s a perfect allover moisturizer for the summer: cooling and soothing to the skin, it’s light but delivers an ample amount of moisture. It’s also multipurpose! It can soothe sunburns and act as a nice, light face mask.

Nature Republic Aloe can be found online and at T&T Supermarket.

2 thoughts on “Three things…to beat the heat

  1. Hi, I’m leaving in an area with hard water and my skin is really bad. Could you tell me how you use Avene thermal water to counteract the effect of hard water?

    1. Hi Uyen!

      Thanks for commenting! You can use Avene, or any water that comes in an aerated container (Vichy, Evian, La Roche-Posay). Use it to wet your face before cleansing and then to wipe it away after cleansing.

      If you use a lot of makeup, consider using a makeup cleaner or cleansing with oil as well since hard water impacts a cleanser’s ability to lather and, well, clean.

      Please let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

