Review | Nature Republic Pearl de Caviar Silky Foam Cleanser

I was really excited to receive – by way of a Nature Republic promo – a deluxe sample of this cleanser with my sun cream.

I mean, wouldn’t you be with “caviar” in the description?!

What is it?

A pleasantly smelling foam cleanser.

Packaging:

This is a deluxe sample but the actual product is just like this only, you know, bigger. I like that it comes in a tube, which I prefer to a bottle, since I can just cut the top off and squeeze any remaining product out. It’s also a good way for me to control the amount of product that comes out. With a pump, I sometimes find myself with too much product.

The design is simple and not busy. While it sounds so crazy to be this nitpicky about clean design, I appreciate it greatly when it’s on one of the first things I see in the morning. The rest of my day can be crazy – but I’d like to wash my face without looking at something visually distressing or stimulating.

I do appreciate the colour. A sunny, golden yellow. A perfect way to remind myself to wash my face at night. And a bright spot in my toiletry set.

First impressions:

My crazy imagination decided this cleanser was going to heavily resemble actual caviar. Black clusters of tiny, delicate little beads.

In my head I had envisioned slathering actual caviar on my face.

Dark, decadent, impractical. All sorts of messy.

Gross?

Sure, but I was definitely intrigued.

Thankfully, the reality isn’t anything like that.

AMtoPM Nature Republic Caviar swatch

In reality, Pearl de Caviar is pearlescent and has a pleasant, flowery smell. Perhaps a little too fragrant for my taste. (Someone actually commented on how nice I smelt!)

While it’s always nice to know I smell good, I tend to favour skincare that’s unscented.

It foams up really well and left my skin squeaky clean.

Takeaway:

This cleanser didn’t break me out nor did it irritate my skin. It also didn’t leave a weird residue nor did it make my skin feel too tight. It just felt clean. I tend to use it when I don’t feel like doing a double cleanse or on days when I’ve gone makeup-free.

I do love the smell. Skin care wise, this is the smelliest thing I own. But it’s a good thing, for the most part. There’s a hint of the scent even after rinsing.

A little goes a long way with this cleanser. Even though this is just a sample – albeit a big one – this will last me a couple of months.

It’s warmer now and my skin is back to being on the oily side. So this is a perfect cleanser for right now because it doesn’t strip all of my natural oils. Next winter, I might just hold off from using this cleanser all that often or at all. It’ll probably be too drying on my skin by then.

I don’t like Pearl de Caviar enough for me to want to repurchase it on its own. I’d have to do a major Nature Republic haul or this cleanser has to be deeply discounted off of Ebay or Gmarket because it’s not worth the markup and shipping.

It didn’t improve the condition of my skin apart from the obvious: cleansing. It didn’t improve elasticity, improve skin tone or boost circulation to my face. It was an ordinary (but nice smelling!) cleanser.

Will I repurchase?

Yes – as part of a bigger purchase. On its own – probably not.

Pearl de Caviar foam cleanser can be found at Nature Republic stores and online

Leave a Reply

