Review | Foreo Luna (Sensitive)

It’s been a long time since a post, let alone a proper review. While I’d love to attribute it to making absolutely sure that this is a thorough review – which isn’t exactly wrong – it’s also due to general laziness.

Anyway!

I received this about six months ago.

I’m a huge sucker for anything novel, luxe and technology-based. The Foreo is a little bit of each. I wasn’t sure that I should buy this, because I already have the Clarisonic Mia.

After all, on paper, they sound like the same product.

A tool for deep cleansing. Designed to give gentle exfoliation. Leaves your skin super smooth.

But it had a lot going for it that the Clarisonic Mia didn’t seem to have.

What is it?

Foreo is a Swedish company and the Luna is currently its only product. There are essentially two forms of the Luna: the Luna mini and the Luna. The Luna for Men is basically the Luna in neutral, less emasculating colours. The Luna Luxe is a swanky version of the Luna.

The Luna, itself, comes in three different colours and “models”: Luna White for ultra-sensitive skin; Luna Pink for sensitive and normal skin; and Luna Blue for combination skin.

The bristles on the different models vary in design. White has no bristles; instead, it has several raised ridges. Blue has the bigger bristles in the centre and three groups of smaller bristles alternating with a row of bigger bristles. Pink has larger bristles at the top and middle and smaller bristles fanning out.

On one side of my Luna are silicone nubs, or bristles, for cleansing your face. On the other side are raised ridges to massage wrinkle-prone areas (anti-aging).

AMtoPM-Foreo-Luna-litAMtoPM-Foreo-Luna-antiaging

According to Foreo, the Luna has over 1000 silicone bristles on its cleansing side. I attempted to count this several times.

Why?
Boredom.
Morbid curiosity.
Confirmation.

But I failed countless times. I trust Foreo, though!

Packaging:

I was a bit hesitant to buy the Luna.

It’s pink.
It’s silicone.
It vibrates.

I debated whether I’d be embarrassed if someone came in and saw it in my bathroom. A lot.

But I bought it anyway.

(It helps that it comes with its own protective pouch to store when it’s not in use.)

First Impressions:

It didn’t take very long to charge. Supposedly, the battery will last about 450 uses – one cleansing and anti-aging cycle. If you use this twice daily, you shouldn’t have to charge it more than a couple times per year.

During the one-minute cleanse, the Luna pauses briefly so you can change over to your forehead, nose and cheeks. If that isn’t enough, the clear base flashes once for a visual cue. I can be pretty absentminded so these little nudges are really helpful.

It’s curved and small enough to fit in the palm of my hand. I like that it has adjustable settings so I have the option of getting a more (or less) intense cleanse when I want.

I like that Foreo gives you three brief pulses to tell you when to finish and allows you a brief window to pause and have time to rinse your face before starting the anti-aging portion. Again, for one minute.

I’m not sure how I feel about the Luna’s anti-aging part. The massage is nice and it’s a relaxing touch that’s a cool addition to my cleansing ritual. I just don’t know if this actually works or if it’s all just hype.

Takeaway:

I love this thing! I didn’t experience a purging stage at all with the Luna. Something that I’m incredibly grateful for.

As far as cleansing goes, I like that this is silicone and is both gentle and exfoliating. I notice if I break out and cleanse with the Luna, blemishes seem to clear up a little faster.

I didn’t care for the anti-aging side. I didn’t notice any change when I switched over to this side. I don’t have any wrinkles yet, so I can’t really comment on its effectiveness.

Still, it’s nice to have down the road when I do need to think about it. If it works, that is.

The silicone body of the Luna make it  easy to clean and – unlike my Clarisonic – has no extra, detachable parts. It’s also pretty compact and I can see myself taking this with me on short trips and on holiday. (Bonus: You can lock it and prevent the Luna from going off accidentally.)

In the past six months, I’ve only needed to charge it once – the initial charge when I took it out of the box.

The one negative thing that I will say about it is that it’s pretty pricey. That alone can deter a lot of people. It’s also mostly available online, so it’s a great leap of faith to purchase one and rely on bloggers and online reviews.

All in all, for me, this was a pretty solid purchase.

I can take it with me.
It’s easy to clean.
It’s low-maintenance.

Plus, it’s pink.

The Luna can be purchased online on the Foreo site and online Sephora and Murale. It retails for $229CDN.

2 thoughts on “Review | Foreo Luna (Sensitive)

Leave a Reply

